Program Schedule

Download PDF Version
On Air : Listen

Talk the Talk

Talk the Talk: You Look Like a Thing (with Janelle Shane)

Tuesday 5th November

Talk the Talk: You Look Like a Thing (with Janelle Shane)

Artificial intelligence will only ruin the world in ways we already have.

Talk the Talk: Mailbag of Welcome

Tuesday 29th October

Talk the Talk: Mailbag of Welcome

Why do we say “You’re welcome”? And more.

Talk the Talk: Decolonising the Archive (with Emma Murphy and Caroline Hughes)

Tuesday 22nd October

Talk the Talk: Decolonising the Archive (with Emma Murphy and Caroline Hughes)

Linguists and community researchers are teaming up to bring language research to communities.

Talk the Talk: There’s No Enhance Button (with Helen Fraser)

Tuesday 15th October

Talk the Talk: There’s No Enhance Button (with Helen Fraser)

What did the suspect really say? Justice may hang in the balance.

Talk the Talk: A Hard Spell (Live Q&A)

Tuesday 8th October

Talk the Talk: A Hard Spell (Live Q&A)

Tough spelling words? We can help.

Talk the Talk: Emoji Innovations (Live Q&A)

Tuesday 1st October

Talk the Talk: Emoji Innovations (Live Q&A)

Unique emoji usages — they’re grape.

Talk the Talk: Bugger All (with Isabelle Burke)

Wednesday 18th September

Talk the Talk: Bugger All (with Isabelle Burke)

“I did bugger all.” How did this phrase come to mean “nothing”?

Talk the Talk: Language Hotspots (with Xia Hua)

Wednesday 4th September

Talk the Talk: Language Hotspots (with Xia Hua)

Lots of languages. Itty-bitty living space. How come?

Talk the Talk: Community Size Matters (with Limor Raviv)

Tuesday 27th August

Talk the Talk: Community Size Matters (with Limor Raviv)

Why are some languages more systematic than others? It could come down to community size.

Talk The Talk: Mailbag of Processes

Tuesday 30th July

Talk The Talk: Mailbag of Processes

We’re opening up the Mailbag for another episode.

Talk the Talk: Because Internet (with Gretchen McCulloch)

Tuesday 23rd July

Talk the Talk: Because Internet (with Gretchen McCulloch)

The rules are changing. Here’s the manual.

Talk the Talk: -nado, -holic, -pocalypse: Combining Forms (Live Q&A)

Thursday 18th July

Talk the Talk: -nado, -holic, -pocalypse: Combining Forms (Live Q&A)

These word parts are coming into their own.

Talk the Talk: Named Wrong (Live Q&A)

Tuesday 9th July

Talk the Talk: Named Wrong (Live Q&A)

Times they named a thing the wrong thing.

Talk the Talk: The Grammarian Is In (with Ellen Jovin)

Tuesday 25th June

Talk the Talk: The Grammarian Is In (with Ellen Jovin)

If you’re at a park in New York City, you may see someone at a table […]

Talk the Talk: Poetry

Tuesday 18th June

Talk the Talk: Poetry

Poetry expresses the soul’s innermost. No wonder it’s kind of terrible.