Program Schedule

Download PDF Version
On Air : Listen

Talk the Talk

Talk the Talk: The Grammarian Is In (with Ellen Jovin)

Tuesday 25th June

Talk the Talk: The Grammarian Is In (with Ellen Jovin)

If you’re at a park in New York City, you may see someone at a table […]

Talk the Talk: Poetry

Tuesday 18th June

Talk the Talk: Poetry

Poetry expresses the soul’s innermost. No wonder it’s kind of terrible.

Talk the Talk: Your Inner Prescriptivist (with Alyssa Severin)

Tuesday 11th June

Talk the Talk: Your Inner Prescriptivist (with Alyssa Severin)

How can we have linguistic discussions with grammar sticklers?

Talk the Talk: Oxbows (Live Q&A)

Tuesday 4th June

Talk the Talk: Oxbows (Live Q&A)

Some words were less restricted in bygone days of yore. Wait: yore? Bygone?

Talk the Talk: Difficult Words (with Jane Solomon)

Tuesday 28th May

Talk the Talk: Difficult Words (with Jane Solomon)

Juxtapose. Obfuscate. And of course, absquatulate.

Talk the Talk: Mailbag of R-R-R-R

Tuesday 21st May

Talk the Talk: Mailbag of R-R-R-R

What’s the past tense of yeet? And much more.

Talk the Talk: Talking Race (with Jessi Grieser)

Tuesday 14th May

Talk the Talk: Talking Race (with Jessi Grieser)

What happens to language when newcomers move in?

Talk the Talk: Gesture in Mind

Tuesday 7th May

Talk the Talk: Gesture in Mind

This is your brain on gesture.

Talk the Talk: Helping My Language Live – Language Activism (with Margaret Florey)

Friday 3rd May

Talk the Talk: Helping My Language Live – Language Activism (with Margaret Florey)

Imagine watching your language erode away. How would you help it to stay alive?

Talk the Talk: Familiolects

Tuesday 23rd April

Talk the Talk: Familiolects

Which words, phrases, and pronunciations are unique to your family?

Talk the Talk: False Friends

Tuesday 16th April

Talk the Talk: False Friends

They feel so right, but sound so wrong.

Talk the Talk: Mailbag of Mallets

Tuesday 2nd April

Talk the Talk: Mailbag of Mallets

Again we tackle the questions that others dast not.

Talk the Talk: The F-Word (with Jesse Sheidlower)

Tuesday 26th March

Talk the Talk: The F-Word (with Jesse Sheidlower)

How this versatile word has changed.

Talk the Talk: The Bee Show (with Stephen Mann)

Tuesday 12th March

Talk the Talk: The Bee Show (with Stephen Mann)

Bees communicate with dance. But are they losing their groove?

Talk the Talk: Shiny Crumb (Live Q&A)

Wednesday 6th March

Talk the Talk: Shiny Crumb (Live Q&A)

What’s happening when you blank on a word?